The Science Of Energy

Scientists have confirmed that everything in the universe is made up of energy, vibrating and oscillating at different rates. One theory is that all energy exists on a continuum from the most dense and least conscious, or what we call physical matter, to the least dense and most conscious, which we call spiritual.

Human Energies

The physical body seems solid, yet every cell within it is actually energy or light, vibrating at a slow enough frequency to make it into visible physical matter. The human body, and the energy field which surrounds it, is made up of electromagnetic energy, and every person has a unique vibrational energy signature, or frequency, in the same way as we all have unique fingerprints or DNA. Drawing more energy of a higher vibration into yourself—like he high spiritual energy we call Reiki—raises the energetic vibrations of your whole body to a higher level, and the higher the frequency, the less dense and therefore more conscious the energy is; the process also raises your consciousness, enabling you to become more spiritually aware—a process of “enlightenment.”

The Human Energy Field 

The human energy field comprises both the physical body and an energy body surrounding and within it, which is made up of much finer, lighter and higher vibrations. The energy body is made up of 3 parts:

  1. Outside your physical body is a field of energy called the aura, or auric field
  2. Internally you have a host of energy channels flowing through your body called meridians
  3. Connecting the internal and external energy fields is the third part, a series of active energy centers known as chakras

Perhaps the easiest way to understand this is to think of the parts of the energy body in similar terms to parts of your physical body. The aura could be described as the energy equivalent of your whole physical body; the chakras could correspond to your brain, heart and other major organs; and the meridians are similar to your veins and arteries, but instead of blood, they carry energy—the life force we call Ki.

The energy that comprises the human energy field has various names, depending upon the culture or spiritual tradition—Ki (Japanese), Qi or Chi (Chinese), Prana (Indian), Light or Holy Ghost (Christian)—or it may simply be called life force. This life force flows within the physical body through the energy centers called chakras and the energy pathways called meridians, as well as flowing around the body in the aura. When your Ki, r life force, is high and flowing freely, you feel healthy, strong, confident, full of energy, ready to enjoy life and take on its challenges, and you are much less likely to become ill. If your Ki is low, or there is a restriction or blockage in its flow, you feel weak, tired and lethargic, and are much more vulnerable to illness or “dis-ease.”

The Aura

The aura is a field of energy or light which completely surrounds the physical body above, below and on all sides. It is as much a part of you as your physical body, but the higher frequencies of the energies that make up the aura mean it is harder to see with the naked eye, although it can be detected by some scientific equipment, and a representation of the aura can also be photographed using a Kirilian camera.

The aura is made up of 7 layers, with the inner layers closest to the physical body comprised of the densest energy, and each succeeding layer being finer and higher vibrations. Most people have an oval (elliptical) aura, which is slightly larger at the back than at the front, and fairly narrow at the sides, which also stretches above the head and below the feet.

People’s auras vary in size, but the outer edge of the aura can be anywhere from 1 to 3 to 6 feet (1 to 2 meters) from the physical body, to 66 feet (20 meters) or more in front and behind the body. Your aura is not always the same size, however, as it can expand or contract depending on a variety of factors such as how healthy you are, how you are feeling emotionally or psychologically at any given moment, or how comfortable you feel with the people in your immediate surroundings.

The aura is spiritual energy (or life force, or Ki), which is present around each of us from birth (and before birth, as the fetus develops) until around the time of our death. Usually just before death only a narrow band of spiritual energy remains, down what is referred to as the “hara line,” linking all the chakras in the center of the body; after physical death, no aura can be detected, because the life force no longer exists. However, in a living person the outer edges and the individual layers of the aura can be detected using dowsing rods or a pendulum, and they can be sensed with the hands. The densest layers, nearest the body, can also be seen with the naked eye by most people with a little practice, and some very psychic people can see the whole energy body quite clearly.

The Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel,” “disk” or “vortex,” and very intuitive people describe the chakras as funnel-shaped energy points, similar in shape to a tornado or whirlpool, with the narrowest point near the body, and the widest visible point between 12 to 24 inches (30 to 60 cm) away from the body.

The chakras are energy centers located at various points around the energy body where the spiritual energy of your aura, the Ki or life force, circulates actively. There are seven major chakras in the human body, at:

  1. The perineum, near the base of the spine
  2. Near the navel
  3. At the solar plexus
  4. In the middle of the chest
  5. In the throat
  6. The center of the brow
  7. The crown of the head

In addition there are a number of minor chakras, for example in the palms of the hand, on the knees and on the soles of the feet. A healthy chakra vibrates evenly in a circular motion, either clockwise or counterclockwise, and this can be detected by using a pendulum held over the chakra point. Sometimes people can actually feel the energy moving with their hands. The outer edge of the chakra can be only a few inches from the body or several feet away, depending upon that person’s physical , mental and emotional state. Most people have alternating clockwise and counterclockwise chakras, but some have a few consecutive clockwise chakras, then a few counterclockwise ones, and other people have all their chakras circulating in the same direction.

Chakras are intimately connected with our physical health, as each is linked with specific parts of the body, and to systems within the body. When a particular chakra is healthy, balanced and open, so are its connected body parts, but if a chakra is blocked, damaged or too closed, then the health of the connected body parts and systems will begin to reflect this. Our energy field, including the chakras, is affected by everything that happens to us, good and bad.

Source: The Reiki Manual by Penelope Quist with Kathy Roberts

Feature Photo: Ruth Thorne-Thomsen